A Tale of Two Sheepys

I finally made it the requisite 27 miles out to Sheepy Magna and Sheepy Parva. Thanks for the tip – it’s a beautiful area. While the Sheepys themselves aren’t much to write home about any more, the road from Coleshill to Atherstone is outstanding.

Here’s my not-so-subtle tribute to Mr Nixon:

This entry was posted in Geography, LEJOG, Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Tale of Two Sheepys

  1. Brad Nixon says:

    Nick, thanks for this delightful shot. Obviously, in the 35 years since my visit, that hedge and the trees along the watercourse have grown markedly, but the signs are nearly the same, and the curbstones along the road and even that drain cover look identical to 1977. I suspect that your bike also has some better technology than the Raleigh I was riding back then.
    Another radical difference is immediately after you made a digital photograph, you have published it and your account to a global audience, while I could only show my film photo to people in the same room with me using a 35mm slide projector. And, had I run into difficulty on my ride, I didn’t have a cell phone handy, either.
    I’m pleased that I now have a companion on this trip: my solo ride in Queen Elizabeth’s Silver Jubilee year joined by yours during her Golden one!
    Thanks very much.

  2. Pingback: Place Names, the Name: Big Sheepy, Little Sheepy « Under Western Skies

  3. Pingback: Last ride of the year | Thoughts While Shaving

Leave a Reply

